1st dibs Photography Finds: Bonni Benrubi’s Georges Dambier and Yancey Richardson’s Rachel Perry Welty

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I realize that I have so quickly returned to the 1st dibs pool of treasures, but when they hold so many, including Georges Dambier and Rachel Perry Welty, why venture elsewhere. 

I began my art hunt with the idea of creating a multimedia selection of pieces for your pleasure and kept finding myself returning to these two photographers.  It seems my mood today is both yearning for glam and wanting to bury myself under a pile of twist ties. 

The fashion forward side of me could not take my eyes off of the elegant and oh-so-fabulous creations of Gerorges Dambier, kindly provided by the Bonni Benrubi Gallery on East 57th in NYC.  I do have to admit I was not familiar with this Parisian fashion photography icon and am still deciding which is more handsome, the artist in his youth or his work?  I will leave that to you to decide (check out this bio with pic for final judgement). http://www.georges.dambier.fr/georges.dambier.html

The second of my selections I must say was a surprise.  Rachel Perry Welty’s photos were the first to greet me I literally could not stop returning to them.  I am not typically drawn to this type of photography but couldn’t pull my eyes away from the colors and composition.  I was not so much fascinated by the materials used  to create the scenes (though pretty freaking cool), but more with the use of color and light.  It always amazes me when an artist, intentionally or otherwise, is able to create the sense of more than one medium, more than one style of work.  What takes her work even further is the emotional tone of her scenes.  How do you present guarded, exposed, colorful, standardized, thoughtful and whimsical?  Ask Rachel.

Posted by Miss Geraldine

This entry was published on 03/04/11 at 5:17 p02. It’s filed under Art, Artistic Experiments, Domestic Experiments, Fashion, Misc and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “1st dibs Photography Finds: Bonni Benrubi’s Georges Dambier and Yancey Richardson’s Rachel Perry Welty

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention 1st dibs Photography Finds: Bonni Benrubi’s Georges Dambier and Yancey Richardson’s Rachel Perry Welty « Geraldine Lilly -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

