Miss G’s Art Review: True Grit and the Mona Lisa

What do the movie True Grit and the Mona Lisa have in common?  Other than the fact that they are now two of my favorite works of art, not much.  I just thought I would open my first art review with an established fav and a new addition the favorable side of my light. 

I have been a fan of the Cohen brothers for years and was not surprised to once again feel that they have outdone themselves.  What was surprising, was the amazing performance by Hailee Steinfeld.  I was expecting to learn that she was in reality 28 playing a 14 year old based on her poise and maturity, but it seems that we have one of those rare castings where the actress is actually the age of the part.  I strongly suggest you shell out the ever growing cost of a movie ticket.  You will not be disappointed.

And now the Mona Lisa.  Before you start wondering what I will say about her age or who she really represents, you should know this is not the Mona Lisa you reviewed in art history 101.  This version was created by one of my favorite artists Devorah Sperber.  Miss Lilly and I had the pleasure of attending the opening of the MAD museum where her Mona Lisa 7 debuted and found watching others experience her work almost as enjoyable as viewing it ourselves.  It is rare these days that I you are totally taken by surprise when strolling through a gallery but Devorah never fails to excite.

Posted by Miss Geraldine

This entry was published on 03/04/11 at 5:17 p01. It’s filed under Artistic Experiments, Entertainment, Misc and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

