Quick and Easy Homemade Tomato Soup and Cheese Crouton

 

Posted by Miss Lilly

Here’s a quick post for Homemade Tomato Soup with Cheese Croutons that can be made in minutes and tastes like you slaved away for hours with ingredients you probably always have in the house. Seriously.

This recipe came about because Hips for Hire founder, Imei Hsu, was coming over to help me with SEO and I wanted to make something nice for her on a cold, wet, grey day. Problem was I really hadn’t been grocery shopping in some time, so looking around the cupboards this is what I came up with – and it was super tasty.

Homemade Tomato Soup

1 tbs olive oil

1/2 chopped onion

1 small can tomato paste

1 qt chicken broth (I used Imagine)

1/4 cup cream (or to consistency you like) – left-over from my pop rocks ice cream making last week

salt and pepper to taste

Saute onions on medium heat in olive oil until soft. Turn down heat and add tomato paste. Stir. Add chicken stock and incorporate. Either use a blender or food processor or immersion blender (one of my fav all time kitchen tools) to blitz to a smooth texture. Add cream and top with cheese crouton (see recipe below).

Cheese Crouton

6 slices day old (or more) crusty bread

1 garlic clove

1 tbs olive oil

Salt and pepper as needed (I wouldn’t recommend salt for the stronger cheese, it’s nice to just let them stand on their own)

1 cup shredded cheese (I used Comte because that’s what I had sitting in the fridge drawer left-over from the fondue exploits)

Heat oven to low broil. Place bread on tray, brush bread with olive oil and rub with garlic clove, heap on cheese and put under broiler for a few minutes or until golden brown.

 

This entry was published on 03/04/11 at 5:17 p01 and is filed under Misc. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Quick and Easy Homemade Tomato Soup and Cheese Crouton

  1. It was super yummy with the healthy nom nom goodness I love on a cold, winter day. And it’s easy enough to make that even I can do this in my simple kitchen.

Leave a Reply

